Office of the President

Office of the President

Initiatives & Priorities

As a place where science and art converge, UNT has a creative culture that fuels technology, innovation and progress and will help UNT claim our place among the nation’s top universities.

President Smatresk is focused on making UNT a nationally prominent research university that gives students the best educational experience in the state and that transforms them into leaders in a global marketplace.  

President Smatresk’s Priorities

Planning Implementation

In keeping with his tradition of strong strategic planning, President Smatresk is developing an action plan that will detail where the university is headed and how it will get there. The ideas and themes developed in the 2014 Planning Implementation Workshop and through community input will become the foundation of the university’s action plan to be unveiled at the State of the University Sept. 17, 2014.


The Road to Tier One

President Smatresk and UNT’s leaders from the Office Research and Economic Development are developing a vision and master plan for how UNT will become a Tier One research university.


Student Success

To give students a great education and the foundation for a lifetime of success, President Smatresk is creating initiatives such as the Eagle Express Tuition Plan, which encourages students to graduate in four years and offers them an incentive of up to $4,000 if they do. Launched in Fall 2014, the plan helps students go farther, faster.

And through the university initiative, Succeed at UNT, students have access to tips and resources to stay on track and finish on time.


Faculty Success

At UNT, faculty excellence comes from having distinguished faculty whose research, scholarship and creativity push the boundaries of knowledge and discovery. Students benefit from being at an institution with leading scholars, innovative research and state-of-the-art equipment because they learn in an environment that is rich in opportunities.


President’s Council Donor Society

The President’s Council at UNT was established in the early 1970s, coinciding with the inauguration of UNT President C.C. Nolen (1971-1979). This society includes generous donors who have given $25,000 to $99,999 to UNT.