Office of the President

Office of the President

Meet President Smatresk

16th president of the University of North Texas, one of the nation's largest universities

President Neal J. Smatresk (pronounced SMAH tresk) became UNT’s 16th president in February 2014, marking his second university presidency. As a leader with nearly 35 years of experience in higher education, President Smatresk steers universities to national prominence by providing a high-quality affordable education, expanding research and innovation, and building strong community partnerships.

President Smatresk is focused on helping UNT fulfill its mission to provide the best education in Texas and to transform students — particularly first-generation college students — into the leaders of tomorrow. Since being established in 1890, UNT has supported industry and the state by providing an educated workforce and contributing to the state’s economic vitality and intellectual capital.

Read President Smatresk's full bio »