Staff Appreciation Awards

Staff Appreciation Awards luncheon

"Staff Appreciation awards honor those who help UNT accomplish our goals to provide excellent support and service to our students and to each other."

President Neal Smatresk

Virtual 2021 Staff Appreciation Awards Event

Eighteen staff and presidential award winners were honored at the 2021 Staff Appreciation Awards Ceremony, presented by DATCU, on March 2. Due to COVID-19 restrictions that prevented large gatherings of people, the event was held in a virtual setting and  included the traditional elements of the annual Staff Appreciation Luncheon awards presentation (minus the lunch!), including door prizes.

About Staff Appreciation

UNT staff members are the backbone of the university, providing essential support to students, faculty, administration and each other. They are essential to the success of students, of UNT and the entire university community.

To honor staff excellence, the university expanded its Staff Appreciation program to a month-long celebration every year with new staff awards. The enhanced Staff Appreciation initiative celebrates staff excellence in more meaningful ways. There are new awards that allow a greater number of staff members to be recognized for their contributions, more celebrations and more opportunities for staff members to be engaged.


The staff awards recognize nominated staff members who go above and beyond their duties to contribute to UNT's quality and excellence, to provide excellent customer service, to support student success, and to foster a diverse, inclusive workplace and campus.

The eight awards will be given each year to deserving staff members during the annual Staff Appreciation Luncheon. All award winners will receive an engraved plaque and all except the Excellence in Leadership Award winner also receive a taxable cash award.

Learn more about the staff awards and see each award's nomination forms (available in English and Spanish).

Steve Miller Outstanding Employee Award Premio Excepcional Steve Miller
Creating UNiTy Award
Premio Creando Unidad
Customer Service Award
Premio Servicio al Cliente
Excellence in Leadership Award
Premio de Excelencia en Liderazgo de UNT
Rising Star Award
Premio Estrella Naciente
Ruby Raines Administrative Professionals Award
Premio de Profesionales Administrativos Ruby Raines
Student Success Award
Premio de Éxito Estudiantil
UNT Spirit AwardPremio Espíritu Escolar

Learn more about the nomination process.

The Outstanding Department, Soaring Eagle and Star Performer awards are recognized at the President's Staff Sack Lunch, which is held twice a year.

Who can nominate?

Students, faculty, peers, and supervisors can nominate deserving staff members. A committee of staff members from each division will review nominations and make recommendations to the president who will choose recipients. They will be honored during the annual Staff Appreciation Luncheon.

For questions about awards and nominations: